Region Piedmont

The region of many delights

"Heaven on Earth" is what they call Piedmont, and the name is very appropriate, at least for those whose passion is excellent food and outstanding wine. Nevertheless, in the "home of the white truffle" there are not only more than 50 Michelin Guide restaurants offering culinary treats but also lots for lovers of culture and nature to do too! Piedmont is a real paradise that offers endless ways for everyone to enjoy an unforgettable holiday.

In this gently rolling countryside covered in vineyards, almost every hill is crowned by a little village, sometimes consisting of only a few houses but always with a church spire reaching up towards heaven, and you really have the feeling that time has stood still.

The vineyards from which such famous wines as Barolo or Barbaresco come are inviting places to go for long walks. The ever-changing ups and downs of the scenery make bike rides an interesting experience. There are vast wine-growing estates were you can taste the fine wines, and picturesque villages with lots to look at: arcaded shopping streets, twisty alleyways, steep steps leading nowhere, churches and palaces.

Italy's leading wine-growing region

Piedmont is the home of DOCG Barolo and Barbaresco, producers of some of Italy's best wines. Altogether, Piedmont has 42 DOC and 7 DOCG regions (Asti, Barbaresco, Barolo, Brachetto d´Acqui, Gattinara, Gheme, Gavi), the result of a tradition of wine-growing that is centuries old.

As in many of Italy's wine-growing regions, many different grape varieties are cultivated in Piedmont, such as Arneis, Barbera, Dolcetto, Freisa and Moscato, but the undisputed star of the region is the Nebbiolo grape, the basis for the famous Barbarescos and Barolos. It is used here to produce world-class wines with strong tannins that keep well.

.

La région Piémont

La région des mille et un plaisirs du palais

«Le paradis sur terre» est ce qu'ils appellent le Piémont, et le nom est très approprié, du moins pour ceux dont la passion est l'excellence de la nourriture et du vin exceptionnel. Néanmoins, dans la «maison de la truffe blanche», il y a non seulement plus de 50 restaurants du Guide Michelin proposant des délices culinaires, mais aussi beaucoup de choses à faire pour les amateurs de culture et de nature! Le Piémont est un véritable paradis qui offre des possibilités infinies pour que chacun puisse passer des vacances inoubliables.

Il suffit de se balader au coeur de ces doux paysages, nichés au milieu des vignobles, où un petit village trône au sommet de quasiment chaque colline, parfois seulement composé de quelques maisons et d'un fier clocher, pour avoir l'impression que le temps s'est arrêté dans cette région.

Les vignobles qui ont donné naissance aux célèbres crus de Barolo ou de Barbaresco sont autant de prétextes à une longue balade ou à une randonnée. Les circuits à vélo permettront de voir défiler des paysages variés et vallonnés. Comment résister à ces grandes caves, où il est possible de déguster des crus fins, ou à ces merveilleux paysages pittoresques qui regorgent de trésors: arcades, ruelles tortueuses, escaliers raides et mystérieux, églises et palais.

La région viticole d’Italie

C’est dans le Piémont que l’on trouve la patrie des DOCG Barolo et Barbaresco, d’où proviennent certains des meilleurs vins italiens. En tout, le Piémont abrite 42 DOC et 7 DOCG (Asti, Barbaresco, Barolo, Brachetto d’Acqui, Gattinara, Gheme, Gavi), qui sont issus d’une tradition viticole séculaire.

Comme dans de nombreuses régions viticoles italiennes, le Piémont possède de nombreux cépages différents, comme l’Arneis, le Barbera, le Dolcetto, le Freisa ou le Moscato, mais la star incontestée de la région est le Nebbiolo, qui constitue la base des fameux Barbarescos et Barolos. Il n’y a qu’ici que l’on produit des vins de classe mondiale avec des tanins puissants et de fortes capacités de vieillissement.