Region Piedmont

The region of many delights

"Heaven on Earth" is what they call Piedmont, and the name is very appropriate, at least for those whose passion is excellent food and outstanding wine. Nevertheless, in the "home of the white truffle" there are not only more than 50 Michelin Guide restaurants offering culinary treats but also lots for lovers of culture and nature to do too! Piedmont is a real paradise that offers endless ways for everyone to enjoy an unforgettable holiday.

In this gently rolling countryside covered in vineyards, almost every hill is crowned by a little village, sometimes consisting of only a few houses but always with a church spire reaching up towards heaven, and you really have the feeling that time has stood still.

The vineyards from which such famous wines as Barolo or Barbaresco come are inviting places to go for long walks. The ever-changing ups and downs of the scenery make bike rides an interesting experience. There are vast wine-growing estates were you can taste the fine wines, and picturesque villages with lots to look at: arcaded shopping streets, twisty alleyways, steep steps leading nowhere, churches and palaces.

Italy's leading wine-growing region

Piedmont is the home of DOCG Barolo and Barbaresco, producers of some of Italy's best wines. Altogether, Piedmont has 42 DOC and 7 DOCG regions (Asti, Barbaresco, Barolo, Brachetto d´Acqui, Gattinara, Gheme, Gavi), the result of a tradition of wine-growing that is centuries old.

As in many of Italy's wine-growing regions, many different grape varieties are cultivated in Piedmont, such as Arneis, Barbera, Dolcetto, Freisa and Moscato, but the undisputed star of the region is the Nebbiolo grape, the basis for the famous Barbarescos and Barolos. It is used here to produce world-class wines with strong tannins that keep well.

.

Region Piemont

Die Region des vielseitigen Genusses

"Der Himmel auf Erden“ ist die kurze und treffende Bezeichnung für das Piemont, zumindest für diejenigen, deren Leidenschaft ausgezeichnetes Essen und hervorragender Wein ist. Doch in der „Heimat des weissen Trüffels“ gibt es nicht nur über 50 Guide Michelin Restaurants, wo man genussvoll schlemmen kann, sondern auch kulturell- und naturbegeisterte Besucher kommen voll auf ihre Kosten!

Das Piemont ist ein wahres Paradies für Geniesser, Naturverbundene und Kulturbegeisterte - Zeit, die Region zu entdecken...

Seien dies die sanften Landschaften inmitten der Weinberge, wo auf fast jedem Hügel kleine Dörfer thronen, teilweise nur wenige Häuschen, immer mit einer sich in den Himmel reckenden Kirchturmspitze, und man unweigerlich das Gefühl hat, hier sei die Zeit stehen geblieben.

Weinberge, auf denen so berühmte Tropfen wie Barolo oder Barbaresco gedeihen, verführen zu ausgedehnten Spaziergängen oder Wanderungen. Fahrradtouren werden durch den steten Wechsel von Ebene und Höhe zum abwechslungsreichen Erlebnis. Weitläufige Weingüter, wo die edlen Trauben degustiert werden können, pittoreske Dörfer, in denen es vieles zu bestaunen gibt: Bogengänge, verwinkelte Gassen, steile Treppen ins Nirgendwo, Kirchen und Paläste.

Die Weinregion Italiens

Im Piemont liegt die Heimat der DOCG Barolo und Barbaresco, aus denen einige der besten Weine Italiens stammen. Insgesamt umfasst das Piemont 42 DOC und 7 DOCG Gebiete (Asti, Barbaresco, Barolo, Brachetto d´Acqui, Gattinara, Gheme, Gavi), die aus einer Jahrhunderte alten Tradition für Weinbau entstanden sind.

Wie in vielen Weinregionen Italiens werden auch im Piemont viele verschiedene Rebsorten angebaut, wie Arneis, Barbera, Dolcetto, Freisa oder Moscato, aber der unangefochtene Star der Region ist der Nebbiolo, Basis für die berühmten Barbarescos und Barolos. Nur hier entstehen daraus Weltklasseweine mit mächtigen Tanninen und großem Lagerpotenzial.